IE students from UPLB clinched top awards in IEshikawa 12 held last November 17-18, 2017 in UP Diliman, Quezon City.

The team of Christian Earl Buna, Yves Alvin Carolasan, Christian Glenn de Jesus, and Franz Christian Velasco bested four other finalists in IExplore: Case Study Competition to take home the top prize. The team presented its distribution and warehousing solutions for a fast moving consumer goods (FMCG) company experiencing logistics-related issues. On top of the trophy and certificates, the group received a PhP20,000 cash prize from LF Logistics, the main sponsor of the event. The team was coached by Asst. Prof. Angelo C. Ani.



IESHIKAWA 12 Case Study Winners from UPLB with the topic Logistics Network.


Meanwhile, UPLB fielded two groups for the IExhibit: Project Fair where student projects in Ergonomics, Methods Engineering, and Production Systems were showcased by various nationwide schools. The first team bagged the first runner-up award for their study entitled “Assessment and Reduction of Whole-Body Vibration Experienced by Jeepney Drivers of “Sarao” Jeepneys”. The team was of Carlo Adug, Christian Earl Buna, Cyrus Mendoza, Jericho Joseph Peña, and Daniel James Villamil, together with their IE 134 mentors Asst. Prof. Lizbeth Mariano and Engr. Liezel Caroche.


IESHIKAWA 12 Project Fair 2nd Placer with the title “Assessment and Reduction of Whole-Body Vibration Experienced by Jeepney Drivers of “Sarao” Jeepneys Using Practical Vibration Dampeners.


The second group, on the other hand, took home the second runner up prize. The team of Diane Belchez, Carmella Coria, Princess Roxas, Lezette Umali, and Franz Christian Velasco with their mentors Asst. Prof. Lizbeth Mariano and Asst. Prof. Clarissa Pesigan exhibited their project “Job Analysis and Ergonomic Risk Factors of Laundry Personnel: Machine and Hand washing”. Each of the UPLB project fair team got a certificate and PhP2,000 worth of gift certificate from Frappe La Rou. 


 IESHIKAWA 12 Project Fair 3rd Placer with the title “Job Analysis and Ergonomic Risk Factors of Laundry Personnel: Machine and Hand Washing.”


IEshikawa is an annual gathering of IE students from all over the Philippines organized by UP Circle of Industrial Engineering Majors (UP CIEM), a student organization based in UP Diliman. This year’s edition, which features the theme Hiraya: Engineering the Backbone of our Nation, hosted academic events on the first day. The second day morning events include workshops on Root Cause Analysis, Risk Management in a Supply Chain, Labor Force Management, Information Systems, Urban Planning, Community Development and many more. In the afternoon, talks tackling Lean Six Sigma and a 3PL company were held.


The whole UPLB participants who attended the IESHIKAWA 12 seminar with the theme “Hiraya: Engineering the Backbone of the Nation.”


Report by Jericho Joseph R. Peña

Edited by Asst. Prof. Angelo C. Ani

Engr. Renzo Robert C. Manalo lands at the top spot of the 2017 Certificate in Industrial Engineering (CIE) Exam held last November 26, 2017 in UP Diliman and Cebu City. Manalo, a cum laude graduate and top 1 in the 2016 graduating IE class, bested 900 IE graduates who took the exam with a rating of 84.30%.

UPLB also posted a 100% passing rate in the 9th edition of CIE after all its 19 exam takers passed. This is a repeat of last year’s performance which marks the first active participation of UPLB IE in CIE. This year’s national passing rate is at 56.89%.

Engr. Connie Rose P. Baltazar, also a 2016 graduate, makes it to Top 7 with a rating of 80.09%.

Passers of CIE, a day-long exam administered annually by the IE Certification Board (IECB) under the supervision of the Philippine Institute of Industrial Engineers (PIIE), are entitled to be included in the ASEAN Registry of Engineers as Associate ASEAN Engineers.

To support its graduates in this undertaking, the Department of Industrial Engineering provided free review sessions – covering lectures and mock exams – every Saturday of August until November 2017.